Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Communication... or lack there of

Why I hate Cadet leadership.  So we just got  back from the FTX and we were doing this obstacle course where you have to use your leadership skills to get through puzzles (over bridges and stuff). on the hardest one where you have to get this ladder from a platform with a curved edge to a wall. While trying to get 15 people across this, we were told to all brainstorm to figure out a way across. I'd just been yelled at about going through my chain of command so I talked to my team leader so he could communicate to my squad leader (in a round about and stupid way) that someone needed to tie the rope far rung of the ladder and then tie the shorter rope to the two sides of the ladder rung closest to us so that we could hold the ladder securely while it was lowered and people crossed the ladder.

One of the other MS2s overheard my comments and asked me to speak up and clarify so we could try it. Out of nowhere, a 4 (student leadership), berated me for yelling at a 3 and telling him what to do. I was pretty ticked because the 4 had no idea what was going and and I'm a 2 so we're the same rank. The 4 gave the stupid leadership cop-out of "I don't care. Just do it."  I replied that I was until he decided to waste my time by interrupting what we're doing. Because of his interruption we lost a good amount of time and my idea worked we were the only ones to get anyone across the obstacle. I often get in trouble for the fact that I respect good leaders, when you are not a good leader I tend to try to help, if you're rude about the suggestions I give then I really won't respect you.

No comments:

Post a Comment